I have a bee in my bonnet about what we should and shouldn't pay for these days, cause maybe we’re already paying in other ways …
I resent it a little when we are
asked to pay 20 cents for wasabi when we buy sushi rolls at our local sushi
shop. The soy sauce comes free, and they usually chuck five of those little
suckers in, but you have to pay for a minute envelope of wasabi. Wasabi … it
goes with sushi. Like salt goes with pepper. To me this is like ordering a ham
and salad roll without the top of the roll or a piece of fish without the chips.
They belong together, they just do. What’s it all about this extra charge? Will
they start charging for straws when we buy a drink? Tomato sauce is another
condiment we are often asked to shell out extra for with a pasty or a pie. Again,
they belong together. Don’t fucking charge me for it. In South Australia they
don’t charge you for sauce, or bread rolls at dinner (but we’ll get to them
later). They have a couple of sauce bottles behind the pie warmer and when you
say yes to sauce, they push the spout in and it distributes through that pasty
or pie beautifully. That friggin' plastic sachet of tomato sauce is completely
pointless on top of a pie or pasty and you can’t dip. It’s not the done way and
the packaging is far too small to accommodate it.
We should not have to pay extra for
a dinner roll at dinner. The bread roll with a meal comes free when you eat out
in Adelaide. In other cities you pay for it. Often up to two dollars. They
might not have Sizzler there anymore, but they have free dinner rolls.
The sneaky charge. I have found
this previously with regards to water in restaurants. Mostly when dining out
when we ask for water, it comes free in a water bottle with glasses. But
sometimes there’s a sneaky charge and it arrives in plastic still water bottles
pre opened or worse in Perrier bottles with bubbles and there is a charge. A
large charge. I don’t mind paying for a Perrier but ask me if that’s what I
want, don’t take the piss.
I loathe having to pay for parking
at local markets and/or to pay an entry fee. I want to save my money for the
vendors. I want to give my money to them for their wares and encourage them to
make more wares and feel loved and supported by their community. I don’t want
to pay Brisbane City Council for the right to park my car at a venue that I can
support small business owners at. I hate that. In fact, in all honesty I hate
paying for parking at all in fact. First in first served is my motto. Maybe
charge people if they stay too long but there should be no need to pay upfront.
Get over yourselves. Paying for parking in Brisbane is fucking unbelievably
extravagant. Sometimes it’s a choice between educating my daughter and parking.
And apparently dearest in the world. How do they justify this? I usually take
the train … and hell hasn't that gone up. Public transport costs! It’s
perverse.
Road tolls. A bell tolls and that’s
the only toll we should ever know. We already pay for roads. We pay taxes and
rates. We do not have a say in whether, where or why new roads and tunnels are
built. Either you have the money to build it Main Roads or you don’t, or you
save for it. Like we save for a holiday. Brisbane just does it because they
fucked up all their roads by just dropping them from a great height and
expecting drivers to make some sense of them … then they need more cause they
neglected to count the population properly. Perhaps fuck off the abacus.
When using the toilet in Europe
there can be a fee. My poor travel buddy in Salzburg had the runs and was
busting while we scrounged for a few groschen (at the time) to put in the door
so she could get in. You pay for ablutions. We also had to pay for a square of
toilet paper in Hong Kong (delivered by hand). I found this odd. Toileting
should be free. It’s an everyday, necessary task.
I do want to state for the record
that I am not penny-pinching, tight, mean, miserable or stingy about money. I
give money to charities, buskers, and homeless people. I just feel that things
have gone a bit far and that some things should just be part of the service.
It’s simply good manners.
No comments:
Post a Comment