Band aids
This is what I find extremely
annoying. Band-Aid comments. I guarantee, except for Nelly cause who gives a
shit why he wears one on his face, put a Band-Aid anywhere on your person, and
people will ask you about it. Now Band-Aid’s have been around since 1921 when
some guy named Earle was concerned about his wife cutting her fingers while
cooking him dishes in the kitchen and made the first one (later his boss, James
Johnson ripped off the idea, made him VP and made Johnson & Johnson a lot
of fucking money), true story but I digress. Try this tomorrow. Put a Band-Aid
on your finger, your hand, neck ... anywhere visible and you will have at least
14 comments about it. Why do people care?
‘What’d ya do to yourself? Knife
slip?’… huge guffaw.
‘What happened? Cut yourself?’
’Nah, just love wearing Band-Aid’s,
fuck head!’
People don’t even care why really.
They just want to ask. I reckon it’s the attention factor we got as kids,
brandishing a Band-Aid on a scraped knee during some sort of incredible kiddy
adventure. After the tears and mercurochrome, it was a statement of valour.
Every kid was secretly envious of that band-aided knee, finger, chin … it was
the mark of a champion and a story to tell. But when you’re 53 and you have a
skin tag that’s catching on a seat belt, and you have a small round Band-Aid on
it-nobody needs to know about it.
Don’t touch me there
How annoying is this when you are
pregnant? Strangers touching your tummy and believing whole heartedly that it’s
ok to do so. You’d be strangers on a train if you were not sporting a small
bump filled with baby. It happened often to me in a supermarket, at the
football once, on the street, in the post office. ‘Ask me first mother fucker, I
don’t know you, but I might say yes’. When did I become public property? I
can’t imagine going up to anyone not pregnant, that I didn’t know and touching
them on the tummy, and saying ‘Hmmm, just imagining if you were pregnant’. It
is not cool. I realised though that if I kept my hand on my stomach, they wouldn’t
be so quick to reach out, no-one wants to touch your hand or any other part of
you, cause that makes you real, although on one occasion a lady at Woollies in
the confectionery aisle, slipped her hand next to mine anyway. I wanted to say
to her, ‘you know I’m here too, don’t you? That belly you’re touching is part
of me, right?’ I swear she would have had the shock of her life…it talks!
Fucking annoying.
Senseless technology
Annoying much? I was at a service
station café halfway up the Sunshine coast and stopped to get my five-year-old
a small milk shake.
‘Can’t do a small one’, the idiot
said.
‘Why not? Just use a small coffee
cup,’ I said noticing the large milk shake cups.
‘Nup, no button for a small milk
shake on the cash register.’
‘Are you kidding? You have three
different coffee sizes and you can’t do a small milk shake for a kid?’
‘Nup, no button for a small milk
shake on the cash register.’
*Stare in an unbelievably
disturbed fashion for a while*
‘I’ll just pay for the large size
then…but can you put it in a small coffee cup please.’
‘Mmm not sure.’
‘Right so you’re saying that my
child can’t have a milk shake in a small cup because the stupid cash register
doesn’t have the right button, that my choice is being controlled by a missing button?
ARE YOU SHITTING ME?’
Lunch
People in my office are over
interested in other people’s lunches or food in general. I find that very
annoying. Well particularly when they are interested in my lunch. Now I get the
whole lunch envy thing. Especially when I am looking down the barrel (or
staring disinterestedly at my plate) of a salad comprised of a tomato, iceberg
lettuce leaf, a dash of balsamic and 3 pieces of cucumber. I smell the
lasagne’s, the Thai curries and the cheese toasties and I have lunch envy. I
do. But I don’t get up in someone’s face about their dish and prod at it with
the tip of my index finger.
‘Mmmm looks great. You make that?’
I don’t stoop over a plate of
steaming delights taking in an audible whiff, possibly dropping possible hairs
into it and say, ‘yum what’s that? That’s a lot of calories’ … like they do.
‘Yuk, what’s that?’ I want to say
pointing in their face.
I had a bowl of muesli this morning
and put some goji berries in it ... well didn’t that start a conversation.
‘Oh, what’s that?’
‘Muesli.’
‘No, the red things?’
‘Goji berries?’
‘Really? Goji berries.’
Fascination and then ... she did it
... she poked one ... what the actual fuck? It’s not a slug, or part of an
unidentified bug species that may bite or retaliate in some freaky fashion ... it’s
a BERRY and it’s MY BREAKFAST!!! It’s annoying.
No comments:
Post a Comment