Tight arse, fat gut and a coffee shop stop at 6am. These are the midlife crisis boys on bikes. The whole cycling apparel includes mandatory helmet of course with weird shit sticking out of the top to deter birds from chipping away at their growing hairy ear cartilage, I think. BioRacer firm bike pants, closer shaved legs than me, in fact nicer toned legs than many of us, windbreaker gloves, jerseys in a variety of fluro, the ability to balance without putting a foot on terra firma at traffic lights and attitude.
My partner always wants to open the
car door when we pass a crew of them riding across seven lanes, rather than
single file as they should, because they get in the fucking way and put the
rest of us in danger ... or so I hear regularly. I usually defended them
because in all honesty that didn’t annoy me as much as drivers who brake before
they indicate.
But then I had an argument with one
of them at Southbank once. There was a hoard of highly prized and very probably
exceedingly expensive bikes parked outside of Chez Laila cafe while a group of
cycling fanatics took up seventeen tables one Sunday morning early. I was there
early with my baby in a pram because she woke at 4.30am and wouldn’t go back to
sleep. So, there I was bleary eyed enjoying the morning sun and wander along
the river, when bam, straight into a Merida Scultura carbon road bike. Before I
could say ‘shit, who put that bloody bike in the path of my pram endangering my
infant’s life?’ a cyclist dude jumped up swiftly, slopping his latte with skim
onto his raisin toast, (no butter) and came at me. I stupidly assumed he was
about to apologise when out of his mouth came an onslaught of abuse about me
hitting his precious Merida Sculture carbon (how I knew the name). There was
some statement about watching where I was going and finally, ‘do you know how much
this bike is worth? It’s a $8,000 bike for God’s sake?’
‘Really? well, my baby cost around
that through IVF and this is a Bugaboo Chameleon with accessories mate. That
makes my cargo worth $9,000 and take that ridiculous hat off dipshit, who wears
a helmet at breakfast. What could happen?’.
It was actually an Emmaljunga and
second hand, but how was he to know? The point is, there was no room because of
the bikes and there was no ‘clean in body, clean in heart’ mentality going on
at all there. They tell motorists to be cautious, be courteous and have a
better cyclist mentality but mind-set like that makes it pretty fucking hard. I
know it could have been just one guy but not one other bike man stood up
to defend me. They were all glancing at their own bikes with that look on their
face like, ‘thank God it wasn’t mine’. I took a backward glance when I was
farther away to see the rude dude squatting with another cyclist to check out
the damage ... of which I’m sure there was none except when I ‘felt abashed at
the extravagant praise’ – NOT.
No comments:
Post a Comment